Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) and the Intelligence Community

Suzette A. Haughton, Scott Romaniuk

Research output: Chapter in Book/Report/Conference proceedingChapterpeer-review


The Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) is an important USA government agency with a national security mandate to collect intelligence globally. This chapter explains the establishment and role of the CIA within the wider USA’s intelligence community. There were four agencies involved in intelligence which heralded the establishment of the CIA. These agencies were the Office of the Coordinator of Information, Office of Strategic Service, Strategic Services Unit, and Central Intelligence Group. The 2004 Intelligence Reform and Terrorism Prevention Act made changes to the 1947 National Security Act. These changes had implications for USA’s intelligence community. The 1947 National Security Act established the CIA, and the 2004 Intelligence Reform and Terrorism Prevention Act reformed the CIA. The CIA continues to collect, evaluate, and disseminate foreign intelligence to the USA government and in this regard plays a central role in the security and protection of USA’s homeland.

Original languageEnglish
Title of host publicationThe Handbook of Homeland Security
EditorsScott N. Romaniuk, Martin Scott Catino, C. Augustus Martin
Place of PublicationBoca Raton, Fl.
PublisherCRC Press
Number of pages6
ISBN (Electronic)9781315144511
ISBN (Print)9781032362632 , 9781138501720
Publication statusPublished - 7 Jul 2023


Dive into the research topics of 'Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) and the Intelligence Community'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this